No cooking here

Copyright of Sony Pictures

Copyright of Sony Pictures


Sorry but there will be no cooking in this post. My varsity work has, well- taken over. Its end of semester and exams are on there way, as in next week. so i have no time to cook, the sadness is palpable. I re-watched Julie and Julia on the weekend, I know naughty me. seeing as this blog is inspired by Julie Powell I thought it was a good idea. I identify a lot with Julie, she wants and is a writer, something I want to. Sometimes I feel like Julie when she says it’s like Julia’s in the kitchen with her. I don’t think Julie is like Julia though, she would never ‘hate’ a fan of hers. Anyway I realised how big Julie’s undertaking was, too cook all those recipes in a year and carry on working. It takes quite a bit of energy and planning to cook a meal. In that regard i am not like Julie, there is no way I would be able to that, not in a year anyway. I also do not have the cooking skills necessary to even attempt half those recipes, or the money, I am a student afterall. Julie’s blog must have been quite fascinating to follow, you feel like your best friends with her.

I think one day I will attempt to cook form Mastering the Art of French Cooking, one day in the distant future. For now I will just keep going as I have. Google-ing recipes. Speaking of which I do have a recipe for you but I haven’t made it yet. If anyone does try this let me know how it goes. I’ve also been thinking that maybe I should try making some deserts, my favourite. Yum!

Honey Ginger Glazed Chicken (Vietnamese dish)
About This Recipe
“Easily doubles. Serve with rice or fried rice, and stir-fried or steamed veggies for a complete meal.”

Ingredients
4 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large onion, cut into wedges
2 lbs boneless skinless chicken thighs, cut into 2 inch pieces
12 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
2 tablespoons grated ginger
4 tablespoons honey
4 tablespoons fish sauce
4 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon five-spice powder
2 to taste fresh cilantro stem ( for garnish)

Directions
1. Heat oil in the wok.
2. Add onion and stir-fry until golden.
3. Add chicken and stir-fry until browned.
4. Add the garlic, ginger, honey, fish sauce, soy sauce, and five-spice powder.
5. Toss to combine.
6. Cook until chicken is nicely glazed and heated through.
7. Place on serving platter and garnish with cilantro sprigs.

Good luck and let me know how it goes.
My song
Gold Dust- John Newman

Leave a Reply

