St Paddy’s Day Irish Stew

So I have realized that some of my posts have not been publishing, I apologize profusely. I’ve been using WordPress on my iPad and it’s been saving as drafts and not posting. I feel like such a noodle. Here I thought I was so tech savvy, being a technological native and all. So give me a chance to sort out the mess I find myself in.

Anyway back to the food. Yay!

It was around St. Patricks day, which I don’t actually celebrate but felt inspired by, that I decided to make airship Beef and Stout Stew, Delicious! It was heavenly, truly amazing and not too difficult to do either. My family loved it and so did I, of course.

I found the recipe on allrecipes.com but I have to mention Donal Skehan, who Irish cooking website was truly inspiring check it out here

So find my recipe for Beef and Irish Stout Stew right here.

This was the first time I made stew and it was so rewding and fun.
Here is the ingredients list:

2 pounds lean beef stew meat, cut into 1-inch cubes
3 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
1 pinch salt and ground black pepper to taste
1 pinch cayenne pepper
2 large onions, chopped
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 1/2 cups Irish stout beer (such as GuinnessĀ®)
2 cups chopped carrot
1 sprig fresh thyme
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley for garnish
I managed to get all the ingredients correctly, but didn’t have stout beer so I just used Heineken.

20140520-215905-79145835.jpg

20140520-215909-79149948.jpg
20140520-215906-79146942.jpg

Some pictures of my ingredients.

I followed the steps:
1.Toss the beef cubes with 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil. In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. Dredge the beef in this to coat.

2.Heat the remaining oil in a deep skillet or Dutch oven over medium-high heat. Add the beef, and brown on all sides. Add the onions, and garlic. Stir the tomato paste into a small amount of water to dilute; pour into the pan and stir to blend. Reduce the heat to medium, cover, and cook for 5 minutes.

3.Pour 1/2 cup of the beer into the pan, and as it begins to boil, scrape any bits of food from the bottom of the pan with a wooden spoon. This adds a lot of flavor to the broth. Pour in the rest of the beer, and add the carrots and thyme. Cover, reduce heat to low, and simmer for 2 to 3 hours, stirring occasionally. Taste and adjust seasoning before serving. Garnish with chopped parsley.
Just a side note I added tons of slice, that little pinch was useless against the might if al that meat.

20140520-220318-79398582.jpg

The smell was divine and made my stomach gurgle delightfully.

It is meant to be served with mashed potato but I mad mashed sweet potato instead. All you do is peel and chop up some sweet potatoes and cook the,. I put mine in boiling water and microwave for about 15 minutes. Mash it all up and add nutmeg, ginger, cinnamon and butter. Add enough to taste. I also added some milk but I put way too much in, so feel free to add some but take it easy.

So yip that was my St Paddy’s day meal.
My cooking song was
If I Had A Heart- Fever Ray (it’s the theme song form the TV show Vikings)

Leave a Reply

