Some Dominican Chicken

So this was my first meal that I cooked. I was excited and a little nervous, I mean my family had to actually eat the food I was cooking…a scary thought. Is this what chefs think in the kitchen or are they just so fabulously brilliant that they don’t even think about someone not liking their food? Anyway there I was. I net my mom to buy my ingredients, for some reason I need some time for mental preparation. These are the ingredients:
4 chicken thighs
4 chicken legs
1 cup sofrito (I will explain)
1 tsp sugar
vegetable oil (1-2 Tbsp)
juice of 1/2 lemon (a whole lemon if it is dry)
2 Tbsp tomato paste
3/4 cup stock or water

Before I offend anyone with my forgetfulness let me just say thank you to Sasha Martin for the Dominican Stew Chicken (Pollo Guisado)Dominican Stew Chicken (Pollo Guisado) and the sofrito recipe sofrito recipe .

So my mom returned with my ingredients and I was ready to start. I read the recipe. Here’s a tip read the recipe more than once before you start- I always forget to and I end forgetting a step or something. Reading it a few times makes it more familiar and easier to remember.

So I started with the sofrito. A sofrito is like a vegetable marinade and it’s delicious. There are a few different versions but I just used Sasha Martins. You need:
1 green pepper, cut in large chunks
1 red pepper, cut in large chunks
1 red onion, cut in large chunks
3 green onions, sliced
2 tomatillo, quartered
2 roma tomatoes, quartered
1/2 bunch cilantro, roughly chopped (cilantro is Coriander)
1/2 bunch parsley, roughly chopped
6 cloves garlic, quartered
salt and pepper (optional)
Basically you just chop up all the veg and blend it, I hit lots of help for. My mom cutting up all those veggies. Then add the parsley and cilantro. It smells amazing….I also added Pomi Pomito tomato chunks. The marinade was quite liquid like but looked great.

20140423-093911.jpg
After you’ve made your sofrito you add the raw chicken and let in marinate for 30 minutes. While that is happening you can mix the stick and tomato paste, looks super weird. When the chicken is ready to be cooked put some brown sugar in a heated pan and brown the chicken. This makes the chicken taste amazing- all I thought was where has this been all my life. Add the sofrito and stock concoction and cook for an hour.

I decided to make cous-cous instead of rice because it’s much healthier and more delicious. Although cous- cous is not dominican I decided to make it because my family and I love it. It’s really easy to make you just add hot water. If you want to add some more flavor you can add onions and some veg. We like to add peas, corn, roasted butternut and sometimes feta. I could eat that for days.

20140423-102137.jpg

So there done and dusted, I had made my first meal. My family really enjoyed it. I only ate some the next day, I think out of some sort of fear. Is this a common thing that happens to people? Is it weird? Anyway I really enjoyed it, and it’s making me hungry just writing about it. So until next time…enjoy cooking.
Oh and please remember to like triple check your ingredients list and shopping list because a green onion is not the same as a green pepper.
My song:
No Cars Go- Arcade Fire

Leave a Reply

